Then and Now #sol19

slice of life updated

Yesterday my friend and colleague Geoff Reed published this slice for day four of the TWT SOLSC. I loved his words a lot. And I’m stealing his structure today.

I used to have a house full of family and pets. Now it’s just me and I’m learning to lean into this new life and make the most of it.

I used to be a suburb dweller who saw neighbors coming and going and knew that company and conversation were just outside my front door. Now I live in the country and see faint lights on the hill that would take me at least 15 minutes to reach on foot, and listen to the donkey bray in the field across the gravel road.

I used to spend Saturday mornings catching up on laundry, paying bills, and running errands. Now I linger in bed, drinking coffee and reading or writing before tackling my to-do list.

I used to take my body for grated, assuming  strength as long as I did my part. Now I know things happen- medical mysteries- and that my new reality means paying attention to an unreliable leg and focusing on what I can do, not what is no longer possible.

I used to think knowing many people casually was an advantage- I’d never be in a situation where I knew nobody. Now I know a few good friends is a precious gift.

I used to dread writing. Now it’s my outlet.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Then and Now #sol19

  1. I really love this structure.

    This stanza especially resonates with me: I used to think knowing many people casually was an advantage- I’d never be in a situation where I knew nobody. Now I know a few good friends is a precious gift.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the idea of just being appreciative of what you’ve got. I actually reflected on a similar concept myself today! Excited to read your posts this month!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment