31 Things About Me #sol19

slice of life updated

 

I am excited to join this community again for the annual Slice of Life Story Challenge. One of my favorite “stolen/borrowed” formats is this one. In no particular order… 

  1. I am a huge Dani Shapiro fan. Recently read her new book Inheritance and listened the the first episode of her podcast Family Secrets. If I ever had the chance to have dinner with Dani I’m pretty sure the conversation would stretch for hours. Maybe days.
  2. If I had to choose just one podcast to subscribe to it would be Krista Tippett’s On Being- the topics, her questions for and conversations with guests and the soothing tone of her voice all speak to me.
  3. For the life of me I cannot get the hang of Marie Kondo’s method for folding clothes. Yes, I’ve watched a YouTube video. No, I will not devote any more time to it. Onward.
  4. Speaking of Marie Kondo… I am a pile person and I’ve come to believe there are two types of people…those who tend towards piles and those who wouldn’t dream of them. Perhaps it’s genetic. In my case it is unlikely to change.
  5. I make excellent chocolate chip cookies thanks to Heidi Swanson’s recipe. Do not let the words “whole wheat” freak you out. You’re welcome.
  6. Too many rainy days in a row are not good for me. Or anyone really.
  7. If I could live anywhere it might be on the coast of Maine.
  8. In my opinion heaven feels and smells like new books and clean laundry.
  9. Mondays and okra should be outlawed. Period.
  10. Coffee in bed on a Saturday or Sunday morning (with a good book or the newspaper) is one of my favorite guilty pleasures. You should try it.
  11. I love a shingled house with a porch that is meant for gathering.
  12. Speaking of houses, I dream of a bright, open kitchen with a beautiful six-burner gas range, lots of counter space and gorgeous cabinets, and shelves galore for my way-too-many cookbooks.
  13. Speaking of dreams… my dream garden would be full of flowers, enough to enjoy outdoors and fill a vase or two- often. Peonies, tulips, hydrangea, daisies, phlox, dahlia, sunflowers and black-eyed susans.
  14. I’ve been invited to take a trip to Scotland in June. For a few years now it’s been at the top of my list of places I’ve not yet been. I’m pretty positive I’m going to love it. There is a small chance I might not come back.
  15. I prefer small museums to large ones. Small museums with coffee shops that make perfect lattes… even better.
  16. A long walk followed by a visit to a local winery makes for a lovely Sunday afternoon in my opinion.
  17. My favorite parts of the Sunday New York Times are the Book Review, Arts and Leisure,  and Travel. It takes me a whole week to get through that paper.
  18. Recently I purchased a fiddle leaf fig plant and I fear I may be killing it. Tips welcome.
  19. I’m a purist when it comes to  half and half and butter. What is the point of substitutes?
  20. I love beautiful scarves.
  21. Dark or bold colors on fingernails- not for me.
  22. Free Solo, which just won an Oscar for best documentary feature, was one of my favorites in the last year.
  23. I’ve been binge watching Gilmore Girls. Well, does it count as binge watching if it has taken me 18 months to get to episode 11 of season 4? Binge watching feels a bit like a second job. I’ve invested AN OBSCENE amount of time in this series. I admire the quick and clever dialog. But I’m undecided if I’ll make it all the way to the end of season 7.
  24. Regarding sports…tennis is my favorite sport to play with someone. Swimming is my favorite way to exercise alone. College basketball is my favorite sport to watch. I’m so not an athlete.
  25. I am a cilantro person. I’ve heard you either are or aren’t.
  26. Same with paperwhites. People either love or can’t stand the smell. I love it!
  27. Running is not my thing. I do like barre classes though I’m not sure I will ever think they are easy.
  28. Recently I participated in a myofascial release/foam roller workshop and it was incredible.
  29. I am not a night-owl.
  30. Having a few good girlfriends is a gift for which I am deeply grateful.
  31. Someday I want to write something bigger than the occasional blog post.

17 thoughts on “31 Things About Me #sol19

  1. I love this format. And I love your insights on Marie Kondo and piles. I can’t get the hang of her either. And I feel really badly about it! But you make me think maybe my endless piles are ok!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved this list SO much! I am also a cilantro person and a pile person. I love the Gilmore Girls too (worth watching the whole thing) and Dani Shapiro and OnBeing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such a great list! I love that your points had nothing to do with your job or titles. They had everything to do with who you are.

    “Too many rainy days in a row are not good for me. Or anyone really.”- I wholeheartedly agree! As someone who lives in a country that has the rainy season, where it rains nearly every day for months on end, this one resonates with me.

    “I am a cilantro person. I’ve heard you either are or aren’t.”- You heard right! I am so NOT a cilantro person. It takes like soap…well, more like what I imagine the soapy water in the sink would taste like after you washed a whole bunch of dirty dishes. So not appetizing! Also, fun fact- in most other countries, it’s not called cilantro. It’s coriander.

    Welcome back to the challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m bookmarking this format to use for sure this month. This was so fun to read, and I feel like I know you so much better now. I have to second the recommendation for fried okra–so very good! I used to think you really had to grow up Southern to love grits or okra, but now my son, who has never set foot in the south, adores grits, so I might be wrong about that one. He still says okra is nasty though. I didnt know Dani Shapiro had a podcast! I really liked her book on writing and her book on marriage. Still have to read Inheritance. Thanks, Lisa!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Welcome back! I am going to borrow this for today! Thank you for sharing! I think number 30 is my favorite, because a few good girl friends who will always have your back and build you up is the secret to success.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Okay, you’ve inspired me. I’ll try to do this for tomorrow and postpone my other one. I forgot this format, and it’s a great one. I’m going to have to stay away from yours, though, because so many are the same. I know, I know. Big surprise.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment