The Truth Is

slice of life updated

To be honest, I was more than ready for the break.

Frankly I was tired, and running behind with family holiday preparations and projects at home.

I confess-I didn’t miss being at school.

You see…sleeping in, sitting down to read a book in the middle of the day, having time for exercise and errands and unhurried conversations… I loved every minute.

Truthfully, it crossed my mind more than once that I could get used to a more leisurely pace.

I’d be lying if I told you that I jumped eagerly out of bed this morning. It was dark. It was rainy. My room was cold. My bed was warm.

Let me be clear… the last two weeks were just what I needed.

But as I walked through the front doors of school this morning, and smiled at Meg who is celebrating her 10th birthday today, and helped Alex shift his backpack up onto his shoulders, and reminded Isabel to tie her shoes so she didn’t trip, and as I rounded the corner to my classroom and found a note from Chloe, and answered Will’s question about what I’d read over break, I couldn’t imagine being anywhere else.

And as I introduced books and we explored word sorts and shared news from our days apart, I realized I was just where I wanted to be, doing what I love most.

 

Join us and share your Slice atΒ Two Writing Teachers.

11 thoughts on “The Truth Is

  1. Thank you so much for this post. I was right there with you. I love the unhurried and being home.
    We go back to school on Monday and I have been wondering how it is going to be to go back into the school world again. :0)

    Like

  2. Breaks are needed, necessary, and lovely, but getting back to the work always feels even more necessary and lovely to me! And I love how it’s the connection with your students, the community and relationships you’ve built together, that heralds the return to that necessary and needed work.

    Like

  3. What a lovely post! I felt that warmth of being back in a place with people I love and doing the work I love today, too. Still, I could have used another week (we were off for just one)!

    Like

  4. I like how you started every sentence with a common phrase. It got me excited to see what came next. I always find the first day back is easier than the second, when I am more tired.

    Like

  5. And those are the things I miss about being a teacher. You’ve described it perfectly. The break is just what it says, a “break”, which is nice always, but then, that lovely time of being with kids. That’s why I’m so grateful for my grandchildren. Lovely post, Lisa!

    Like

  6. I go back tomorrow, and after spending most of today at school preparing, I have to say I am looking forward to it. But when the alarm goes off at 6:00 tomorrow morning, I may think differently! πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Like you, the first day back is always a little adjustment, but as soon as I see the kids, I’m all in! We go back Thursday, but our students don’t come until Monday. I’m ready to see everyone!

    Like

Leave a comment