leaving is hard #sol21 #14

Each time I leave gets a little harder.

Each time I leave I wonder what might change before I see her again.

Each time I leave I wish I’d done more. Run one more errand, completed one more household chore, cooked one more meal for her to eat another day.

Each time I leave she tells me she is going to miss me and I scroll the calendar in my head to calculate how long it will be until I’m back.

Each time I leave she thanks me for coming, for helping, for keeping her company.

Each time I leave she stands in the door, usually still in her bathrobe, looking small, and a little sad.

Each time I leave a few tears roll down my cheeks as I pull out of her driveway, waving and hoping all she sees is my smile.

6 thoughts on “leaving is hard #sol21 #14

  1. I sense the love in every line, the care you put in your time together. And yet, it’s still hard to leave. You are indeed a blessing to her and bring warmth and joy with each visit.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Each line makes my heart pull a little tighter. This must be so hard. The repetition of “each time” makes this so much more poignant.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment