she’s not going anywhere anytime soon #sol2021 #2

We sat down just before seven and as each of us pulled in our chairs, put our napkins on our laps, and picked up our utensils, she began to share the neighborhood goings-on since my last visit.

Did you notice all the pine trees coming down? Ken and Rick are removing them. I think it’s a good idea. Holly asked if I would take mine down while they had someone here to do the work. He charges $500 a tree, a fraction of what it normally cost. So, I said yes. She said she might pay for it.

Well I hope she does.

We’ll see. They are doing quite a number on my garden. I’m going to have to spend a lot to put that back together.

Yes- I thought. It’s a big and beautiful garden. Behind a big and beautiful house.

She continued-

The house two doors up sold for over $800,000. There’s such demand. The population in the state has increase by 20.000 since the start of the pandemic.

Wow, that’s a crazy price.

Well houses are selling left and right. I even had an agent stop here and ask me if I was interested in selling.

My ears perked up.

Have you thought about selling? It is an awfully big house for just you. And it’s so beautiful- the water view. Could be a good time to sell.

She placed her fork on her plate, adjusted slightly in her seat and looked me square in the eyes with her familiar I-am-your-mother-no-matter-how-old-I-am look.

Of course not. I like my big house. I get my exercise having a big house. The dog likes my big house too. We’re doing just fine here. I told that agent I wasn’t the least bit interested in selling.

She picked up her fork and took another bite of chicken. For now it looks like she’s going to fix up that big, beautiful garden and stay in this big, beautiful house.

12 thoughts on “she’s not going anywhere anytime soon #sol2021 #2

  1. Lisa, I read both your slices and see that your mother is an independent thinker who loves her garden. My Nonnie was like that until 94 when she no longer could live in her house. There is a beautiful feeling of honest communication and willingness to listen in this slice. Best of luck to your mother and her decision.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. She accepted your help in yesterdays slice — but today, selling her house, not yet! I love the spunk and spirit of your mom here. She reminds me of my 94 year old neighbor who lives alone and, at her daughters suggestion of moving closer to her, she said emphatically, no!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love how much voice you have in your piece. I felt like I was right there, listening to the conversation. I could picture what her mannerisms and facial expressions must have been. Your mom sounds like she’s a strong woman with many opinions. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I had to do a double take to make sure I wasn’t reading my mom’s blog post. She could have written this word for word, minus the “water view”. I loved that you waited until the very end to actually say it was your mother, but there was no doubt in anyone’s mind.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If you count the pool, there’s a water view. Larkin’s 100% right! Too funny! I love the SOL connections so much!

      I also love your writing, Lisa. The weaving in of the relationships and patterns happen so naturally within the small moments you capture.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Your title intrigued me! And that’s so sweet, ‘she’s not going anywhere, any time soon.’ Hopefully you enjoy many more years of conversations like this one in that big, beautiful house.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I liked how you revealed your thoughts in the conversation with your mother.

    The decision to sell a house and downsize is a difficult one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment