#sol20 number 10

slice of life updated

I look at my email and read the following subject lines:

Five weeks of meals you can make with pantry staples

How do you tap into humor to relieve stress

Virtual PD days- how to plan and get the most from them

Stay connected to your accounts… I only have one with this particular bank.

important information about coronavirus- from my church, my fitness center, my daughter’s university

Map: Coronavirus and school closures

Upcoming webinar: How to navigate market volatility

Someone has posted photos of various aisles in their grocery store on Facebook. The shelves that hold boxes of pasta and paper goods are bare. An alert pops up on my phone about trading being halted on the NYSE.

My risk is low. I’m middle-aged, healthy, a good hand washer. I am not traveling out of the country or on an airplane. I don’t reside in or plan to visit a large metropolis. I’m a let’s-get-the-most-accurate-information-we-can-and-then-make-a-sensible-plan kind of girl. Right now though, it’s hard to sift through hype to find necessary facts. Meanwhile, I keep my elderly mother company. We take short walks, sit and read books, talk over meals, love on her aging pets. She checks her email and shares that something else on her calendar has now been canceled. I tell her not to worry and wonder what else I should say.

 

 

11 thoughts on “#sol20 number 10

  1. Thanks for sharing how your family is navigating the virus. I am currently living with both my parents who are healthy and in their 70s. They’re having a hard time stepping away from the news and thus have a small stockpile of goods. A little more than I think they need but being home with them, I notice this much more. I, like you, am trying to change the subject, enjoy our time together and find other things to do, like building puzzles, over being inundated with the media’s coverage because I don’t know what else I can say either.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Panic might be even worse than the actual virus. Keeping calm and being cautious, rather than bold, helps. I am waiting for the spring and lot of sunshine that usually beat viruses.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My goodness, it is unbelievable. Your slice and all the comments make me realise it is actually happening. I am far away from it all, but I do have to get back to Australia for our daughter’s wedding next month… just hoping they don’t cancel any more flight destinations!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It is really sad to think of the panic and hysteria that surround this. I’m not sure when it will all end, or what will be the ultimate outcome, but I believe panic and hysteria are not the answer. As for your mother, there may not be anything more to say. I think we just have to do what we can to stay safe, and encourage our families to do the same. Love your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Of course people should not panic, and I suspect five weeks of meals is a bit panicky. My guess is that suggestion is from church. However, as do you, I worry. Many will be infected. It’s the rapidity w/ which this disease spreads that’s a bit scary. Most will have a mild case, but the unknown and confusing information add to this age of anxiety.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lisa, my husband just came into the room, talking about the virus. It is at the frightening stage now here on Long Island. We have a few closed to disinfect their buildings and NYS now has the highest rate of known incidents. Your slice is timely. I have been thinking of writing about the hype that seems so real now.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love your idea of looking at the subjects of your inbox as a slice. They could be pretty funny most days!
    Currently I am feeling the same way you are… worried, but not. Wondering what’s next. Knowing I do NOT have enough food for five weeks of meals in my pantry!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Panic is fully on here. We are going to camp for 4 days and three nights. Yesterday all 6th grade teachers were called to an emergency meeting because instead of 30 of our 500+ 6th graders not going, we had 85. Our principal asked for volunteers to stay back. Parents are panicking. My teaching partner volunteered because she is the caregiver for her 93 year old mother. we all agreed she should stay back.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment