#sol20 number 1

slice of life updated

Pansies in pots? Check. Party supplies secured? Check. Picking up pulled pork and smoked chicken to make sliders was my last errand of the day. The restaurant was about 20 minutes from home but I didn’t mind the drive as it was mostly on two country roads that wind through vineyards and past beautiful homes. I’d told the server who took my order that I’d be there before 5 pm. My plan was to come home, pull out the platters I’d need, finish sweeping the front patio and settle in front of the t.v. with a glass of wine by 6 to watch the Virginia-Duke game.

I arrived before my order was ready and found a seat near the front window of the restaurant to sit, wait, and people watch. The place was mostly empty. A group of four sat at a table in the middle of the room drinking beer and making proclamations about the game- who’d step up, what the score would be, how Kryzewski would interact with the refs.

A tall, thin man appeared from behind the kitchen doors, my order in his arms. He walked quickly and started apologizing before I even stood up. I smiled and said, “Please don’t worry. I’m not in a hurry. Thank you so much for doing this.”

His face relaxed and he asked “Big occasion?”

“Having friends in tomorrow so my daughter can see some of her favorite people before she moves to San Francisco this week to start her first job. And she requested barbeque sliders- with your pulled pork”

“Wow,” he replied. I don’t think he was referring to the pork.

“Yes,” I responded. I could feel the lump in my throat that has come and gone hundreds of times the last few weeks. One word answers were easier than anything more. I looked up at him and asked, “What do I owe you?” in a tone that might have been a tad too cheerful for such a matter-of-fact question.

He handed me the bill. I paid.

“Good luck mama. She’ll be fine. She’ll be back. She’ll miss you. She’ll miss the pulled pork too.”

“Yes,” I replied and smiled.

16 thoughts on “#sol20 number 1

  1. So happy to see that you’re back and I can read your thoughts again, Lisa!

    I really loved how this slice was set up – I can just imagine how you welcomed this stranger and celebrated your daughter!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved reading this! Such a great opening and such a poignant end. Your story unfolds so beautifully. So hard to let go… but I’m sure it’ll all work out. Mother-daughter relationships can be so special…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How perceptive of the owner to react to the true heart of your conversation. I love stories of human connection, and you nailed it with this one. And the owner nailed it with his comments, too. Enjoy the time with your daughter before the big move!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This made me think of how my mom must have felt when I moved away…hang in there! If she’s anything like me, she’ll be back. ๐Ÿ™‚
    By the way…I’m digging the alliteration in your first line. “Pansies in pots? Check. Party supplies secured? Check. Picking up pulled pork…”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Phew! That parenting thing can be so, so hard. Watching them spread their wings and fly. And being thrilled for them and still missing those days when they were in the next room. You have captured it beautifully in this slice.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So many changes … we do have a lot to connect around and time to maybe even have that in-person meetup! I have no doubt we would be fast friends. She will be back and you will join her life. The bittersweet reality of a job well done.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment