Endings and beginnings; Celebrate this week

a4b72-celebrate-image

When something happens that is both an ending and a beginning, I often have a whole range of responses. Celebrating is one of them, but it isn’t the only one. I am thrilled for my younger daughter who graduated from high school yesterday and is off to the college of her choice in two and a half months. But I’m also feeling a twinge of sadness. We will no longer be at the same school every day. For the last five years ,one or both of my girls and I have been at the same school (on different campuses much to their relief). I won’t have children at home for dinner every night or someone to call up the stairs to each morning just to be sure she heard her alarm. I won’t have Fall tennis matches, Winter choral concerts and Spring ceremonies to attend. And that makes me a little sad. But I also won’t have to grocery shop if I don’t feel like it, and there will be less laundry, and no waiting in line for the shower.

I’m choosing to focus more on the beginnings,  and less on the endings here. I’ve decided it’s a bit like getting to the end of book one in a series. I’m a little sad I’ve finished the first one, but am looking forward to the next installment.

Celebrate this week here with Ruth Ayres.

 

6 thoughts on “Endings and beginnings; Celebrate this week

  1. You have been so fortunate to have shared so many experiences with your daughters. It does make the transition that much more bittersweet. Here’s to the future and creating more wonderful experiences together. On a completely different note, I think your wall paper on your blog is fabulous.

    Like

  2. I was in these exact shoes last year. My oldest graduated from college and my youngest from high school. Luckily, I still have both at home…for the time being. Ahh…life’s changes.

    Like

  3. I like the way you’ve decided to frame this next part of your life. This next installment may seem quiet to begin, but soon you may grow to appreciate it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

