Chatting on Twitter

ff23b-sliceoflifepicture

I had every intention of writing a post I was thinking of titling “goodbyes.” It was a little gloomy, but I’ve been to quite a few funerals lately, and saying goodbye has been on my mind.

But then, last night, after a longish, rainy Monday at school, and another funeral, I joined the Two Writing Teachers  Twitter chat on mentor texts. And when it was over, all I wanted to write was about how amazing it was. If you missed it, here‘s the link to the Storify of the chat. Trust me, you are going to want to read through it.

Yes, I know, Twitter chats are a little intimidating. They move fast. You have to remember to include hashtags and numbers and letters in your tweets. You are following the thread and responding to conversations and typing faster than you ever thought possible. But trust me, you can do it. And it is worth it!

Last night’s chat was all about using mentor texts. And by the time it was over at 9:30 p.m. I was so excited I couldn’t even begin to think about going to sleep.

There are so many reasons to join a Twitter chat, but just in case you still need convincing, here are a few:

  • They are free.
  • You can participate (tweet) as much or as little as you like. If you do nothing other than follow along, you are still going to get lots out of the chat.
  • Teachers are generous ,and they share. During Twitter chats they share titles and tips and charts and lists.
  • You never know who is going to show up for a Twitter chat. There were quite a few “stars” at last night’s chat including Ralph Fletcher and Ruth Culham. Experts in the field join chats often, sharing their wisdom with the rest of us. For free. It’s pretty exciting too.
  • You build your PLN (professional learning network).

I’ve said it before- get on Twitter. And then join a chat. Try it, you’ll like it. I promise.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Chatting on Twitter

  1. Twitter Chats are exciting. It’s like a great party. You know who might be there, but then lots of unexpected folks come and make the party even better.

    So glad you were able to join us last night! Like you, I was unable to go to bed until nearly 11 p.m.

    Like

  2. I just went through the feed and favorited a bunch of your tweets. Bummed I missed the live moments. Sometimes west coast time just doesn’t work. Glad I can go back and re live!!

    Like

  3. Too funny as I was actually going to write a “mother” story . . . but I hadn’t decided on the main character. Then I couldn’t NOT write about Ralph Fletcher “liking” a tweet of mine. Fan moment. Fan hours! Amazing learning – love the access to the authors and brilliant minds on Twitter!

    Like

Leave a Reply

