No Writing on a Perfectly Full Day

Thank you to the team at  Two Writing Teachers for hosting the March SOL writing challenge.

Yesterday I never got to writing. It was a perfectly full day.
I didn’t get to writing, but I got to my favorite Saturday morning exercise class.
I didn’t sit down at the computer, but I made eggs for my daughter who was home from college, and she commented that she likes “home” eggs more than “school” eggs.
I never wrote a word, but I picked up my tennis racquet and spent an hour on the court- my third time out this season, and it is starting to feel fun again.
My notebook lay on the table unopened, but I spent part of the rainy afternoon catching up over coffee with one of my childhood friends who is in town visiting her college age son.
The writing ideas stayed tucked in my head while I listened to an A Capella concert featuring  local high school groups.
I wasn’t writing while the girls and I sat eating burgers and fries watching UVA eek out a win against Butler last night.
By the time we got home, I was tired from a full day. I had no energy to write.
But I got to listen to my daughter read the feature article she wrote last evening (and had to turn in by midnight) on the concert. I listened to her strong lead and powerful quotes and succinct summary. Yesterday I never got to writing, but my day ended with my daughter sharing her writing, a perfect end to a perfectly full day.

6 thoughts on “No Writing on a Perfectly Full Day

  1. Love, love this post as it so captures all that gets in the way of writing. You were writing though, because you were spending your day collecting, noticing, appreciating, and stashing away the ideas and moments that are your writing life.

    Like

  2. Love, love this post as it so captures all that gets in the way of writing. You were writing though, because you were spending your day collecting, noticing, appreciating, and stashing away the ideas and moments that are your writing life.

    Like

  3. You had such a full day of wonderful activities that you wrote in your head:) Sometimes we just can't make it to putting pen to paper or fingers to the keyboard, but you were still thinking about your writing.

    Like

  4. What a lovely day and a great slice. My son is a writer as well and I am thrilled whenever I see what he has produced. The structure of your piece was perfect with the repetition of “yesterday I never got to writing” during your “perfectly full day.”

    Like

  5. What a lovely day and a great slice. My son is a writer as well and I am thrilled whenever I see what he has produced. The structure of your piece was perfect with the repetition of “yesterday I never got to writing” during your “perfectly full day.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

