Since Last March

Fran McVeigh’s Tuesday slice   inspired my writing for this third slice.  Join the slicing community at Two Writing Teachers all during March.

Since last March
I’ve been to Maine and Memphis, 
New York and Napa
And I’ve seen Rodin’s sculptures in Richmond and Matisse at the Phillips, and the new Whitney.
Since last March
I’ve walked up hills and on trails and through neighborhoods and even along the High Line- three times.
I’ve cried and laughed and hugged and danced since last March.
I’ve said good luck to my daughter who started college
and goodbye to my sweet old Lab Molly
and good riddance to regrets.
Since last March I’ve seen
the sun rise on the west coast,
stars fill the northeastern sky,
and snow pile high on my hill in the Virginia countryside.
I’ve looked up at super moons and out at perfect storms since last March.
Since last March I’ve tried Pure Barre
and logged miles and miles in the pool,
but I still can’t run 4 miles without stopping to walk some.
I’ve said hello to new friends
and farewell to my godfather
And I’ve reconnected with cousins from whom I’d drifted.
Since last March  I’ve done a lot of living.

12 thoughts on “Since Last March

  1. I love your lists, Lisa. It actually helped me remember a few things I've done since last March, like that super moon. What a great year of travel you've had, and what poignant moments to remember, too.

    Like

  2. We think not much happens, but then when you start listing, our life explodes. It looks like there's been a lot of travel across the country for you. I'm in awe that you can run distance and not stop to walk.

    Like

  3. We think not much happens, but then when you start listing, our life explodes. It looks like there's been a lot of travel across the country for you. I'm in awe that you can run distance and not stop to walk.

    Like

  4. It's amazing to reflect back on life, even just a year. You sure have been busy. I remember reading your goodbye slice to your sweet dog, Molly. Love this format too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

