Celebrating Celebrations

What a day yesterday was. My first born graduated from high school. The day began with an early morning chapel service for seniors and their families. A much beloved long time teacher gave a wonderful homily and several seniors shared beautiful music.

Graduation began at 11. It felt a little strange to be seated in the audience, rather than processing in with the faculty.  But it was also really wonderful to have a totally different perspective and to experience the ceremony as a parent, not a teacher. My mom and my younger daughter and I watched Frances walk up the center aisle and take her seat at the end of the top row, on the side of the stage closest to us.

The commencement address was delivered by an alum who now works for the WNBA. Her message was powerful and half way through her speech I couldn’t help myself and started writing down some of her highly quotable lines.

“Be dedicated to the pursuit and the process required to perfect your craft,” she told the graduates.

“A setback is nothing more than a setup for a comeback,” she offered. She urged the young men and women on the stage not just to live, but to thrive. I loved her message.

After she spoke, the head of school stood to deliver three faculty awards, and much to my surprise I was the recipient of the Teaching Mastership award. It was totally unexpected, and I am still in shock. My mom was there to see my daughter graduate and me receive an award. What a day. What a celebration.

3 thoughts on “Celebrating Celebrations

  1. Congratulations to you for the award, Lisa. What a special time for all of you, and how nice that it was a surprise, too. And, congratulations to your daughter too. Thanks for sharing some of those wise words!

    Like

  2. An amazing celebration for you and your family! Congratulations to all of you. As I find my oldest nearing his last year of high school, it has become quite the surreal experience. I can't believe I have a child who will be going off to college soon. Time sure does fly, doesn't it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

