Celebrate this week

Join the celebration here  Thank you, Ruth Ayres, for hosting.

I will never forget a moment, almost twenty years ago, when my mother and I were deep in conversation and she said to me, “Lisa, life isn’t always happy, but life has many happy moments.”
Today I celebrate happy moments.

Last Saturday I woke to sunshine and warmth in New York City and spent the first few hours of my day walking in Central Park. It was a beautiful morning, and children, dogs, walkers, runners filled the park. The best part though was feeling the energy and gladness there. It seemed as if everyone was celebrating spring.

I celebrate my OLW. Without it, I might have missed this picture. 

On Wednesday evening, we celebrated seniors with a family picnic at school.  It is hard to believe my oldest will graduate in fewer than three weeks.  As we drove home, chatting about the evening, the sun was setting. It was a hot, fiery red sunset, and cars were pulled over along the country road that takes us home. We stopped too and took this picture, which doesn’t capture the dramatic colors.  I celebrate my daughter and living in a place where people stop to watch the sunset.

Yesterday was  Frances’s last day of classes. She will spend the next few weeks completing her senior project. It was a bittersweet celebration as my girls marked their last day of attending the same school.

Indeed, life does have happy moments. I’m celebrating them this week.

8 thoughts on “Celebrate this week

  1. Happy moments. I shared a similar sentiment today. When we hold onto all of those moments closely we are surrounded by joy. Beautiful sunset picture. Sunsets are so perfect for celebrating.

    Like

  2. That is such a wonderful sentiment today – happy moments. My week and my month have been filled with turmoil and some of the greatest sadness I have ever known and yet, you are right, there have been still many, many happy moments. Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

  3. That is such a wonderful sentiment today – happy moments. My week and my month have been filled with turmoil and some of the greatest sadness I have ever known and yet, you are right, there have been still many, many happy moments. Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

  4. Those look like some happy moments even with a few bit of sadness wedged in. What a wonderful piece of wisdom from your mother. I guess the lesson there is to keep noticing the happy moments. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  5. Collecting happy moments gives a happy hue to life. Strolling in a park, enjoying beautiful spring weather, creates big bubbles of happiness. The beautiful photo of your daughters tilts the bittersweet celebration towards the sweet. I hope that your next week will also include energy and gladness.

    Like

  6. That NYC photo is stunning! Central Park is so beautiful. I can hear the bittersweetness of your voice when describing this time with a soon-to-be graduated daughter. My oldest graduates from college next Sat. and then gets married in June. Such a time of celebration and nostalgia!

    Like

  7. Love your celebrations and happy moments. I love waking up to NYC each time I'm at TCRWP Saturday Reunion. Your picture of Central Park is gorgeous! Congrats on your daughter and I'm loving how you captured their last day in the same school with such a beautiful shot!

    Like

Leave a Reply

