I’d forgotten

I’d forgotten

The feel of slipping in, dunking under, adjusting goggles and  easing forward

Pushing off to pull toward the far wall

Turning my head to gulp air, catching a glimpse of the sky

My arms and legs create rhythm

Muscles stretch long and lungs fill and empty

The day washes away and silence and steady counting fill my brain.

Water  beneath and to the side,  I am weightless but every fiber works

The quiet interrupted only by the sound of feet kicking and hands and arms hitting and digging into the water in front.

It is work and play and joy all at once.

I’d forgotten.

4 thoughts on “I’d forgotten

Leave a Reply

