Just like that

And just like that
she passed the test
and sat behind the wheel, her older sister now the passenger

And just like that the afternoons that once were punctuated by naps and snacks and trips to the playground
were full with tennis matches and play practices and homework

And just like that
they both grew tall so when I’m in my socked feet I now look up when we speak

And just like that
there were boys, dates, and dances

And just like that
the college call came
“I’m in. I’m going to Elon!” the older one shouted to her younger sister and me

And just like that
there were summer jobs and paychecks and
social plans and travel plans
that had nothing to do with me

And just like that the house that was often full of teenagers, messes, chaos and laughter
was still and silent

5 thoughts on “Just like that

  1. I have four little ones at home right now and every time I want to complain about the noise level or the mess I remind myself that it won't always be this way and that I am going to miss it. I must admit that sometimes this is a difficult thing to do. Thanks for sharing and reminding me to cherish this season of my life.

    Like

  2. Wow…that is exactly how I feel and have never been able to express.

    You may think I'm silly, I've gotten fine with our (mostly) empty nest, but this brings tears to my eyes when I think of how quickly those years passed. Just like that.

    Thank you for sharing this.

    Like

  3. I love the way you used the the repeating phrase to structure your poem. I write poetry too and find it helps me to clarify my feelings as I write. I also appreciate the duality of your piece chaos and laughter was still and silent. Beautiful. Take some comfort in knowing that this is what all our work as parents is leading to – there will be another transition and that will be wonderful too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

