I have a friend

I have a friend
I have a friend who is smart and wise
She is fierce and loyal
and level beyond belief.
Funny too.
I have a friend who had the courage
to guide me when I could not think for myself,
Who brought tissues to dry my tears
and a washcloth to cool my head.
She walked my road with me.  It wasn’t her road, and she had other things to do.
I have a friend who juggles three children,  more dogs, two houses and a busy husband
with the grace of a trapeze artist.

I have a friend who makes time to catch up  in front of a fire over a glass of wine, even when she has a thousand other things to do.

I learn from my friend every day.
Lucky me.

Thank you to the hosts of Two Writing Teachers who encourage teacher writers each week with this writing challenge.  Join in here.

7 thoughts on “I have a friend

  1. Lisa,
    This is beautiful! It's so easy to forget to “thank” our friends and celebrate all that they do for us. Thanks for this great reminder!

    I'm thinking a “Friend's Day” is in order!

    Like

Leave a Reply

