College news

The wait was peppered with proclamations
Won’ts, Can’ts and Nevers.
“Why?” she lamented, “have others gotten a call and I haven’t?”
“See? Everyone else has heard” she pronounced as she hit the refresh button and stared at her Twitter feed.
“Maybe not,” I offered. “I can’t imagine they have time to call everyone. Sunday night will be here soon and you can find out then.”
My words weren’t enough and did nothing to calm her.
We went to church Sunday morning- she hadn’t been in a long time but I imagine that seemed to her like a good place to be. And I was happy for her company, whatever the reason.
That afternoon we decided to clean her room and were deep in the recesses of her closet when we heard the phone ring.
“Run,” I said. “It might be them.”
She thundered down the stairs.
“It might not though..” I added, fearing another round of frustration.
“Hello?” I heard her say. I could hear her smile too.
Her sister and I crept around the corner to the balcony that overlooks the kitchen.
“I’m fine, how are you?” she continued.
“Really?  Oh my gosh, Thank you so much. I’m so excited.”
Her back was turned but I could feel the joy rushing in and out and around her.
Her sister and I held our breath, afraid to let go quite yet.
“Thank you again,” she continued. “Okay, bye.”
She hung up, looked up, welled up and said to us, “I got in!”
And with that all three of us were shouting for joy.

4 thoughts on “College news

  1. A joyous celebration – “I could feel the joy rushing in and out and around her . . .” I was hanging over the balcony holding my breath with you and your daughter. And then,
    “. . . all three of us were shouting for joy.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

