SOL Tuesday- gratitude and thanks

I’ve made a point of keeping a gratitude journal this year. A wise friend gave it to me last Christmas, perhaps to encourage me to look for the good, find things to celebrate and practice gratitude despite the challenges in my life. And now, as the sun is beginning to peek through the fog of the last 12 months, I’ve begun rereading my entries. Rereading is helping me to see how many happy moments and  wonderful connections and how much deep learning have happened this year for me.  So many little nuggets are recorded in the book that sits by my bedside. Even on the toughest days, when all I really wanted to do was to climb into bed, bury my head under the blankets and bring the day to a close, I made myself write something.  Now, I am so glad I did.
Among the things I am grateful for:

  • my daughters
  • my mother and sister
  • family time at the beach
  • warm fires
  • invigorating walks
  • hot baths
  • sunsets and moonrises
  • cousins
  • long hugs
  • good tea
  • notes in the mail
  • Sunday yoga
  • books
  • a week at Teachers College
  • friends who helped me move
  • friends who hung my pictures
  • friends who took me to dinner
  • friends who brought groceries
  • friends
  • my old pets
  • funny cards
  • kindness
  • music
  • soup
  • helping hands
  • college sports games
  • caring neighbors
  • free firewood
  • fresh flowers
  • dinners around the table
  • last minute plans
  • sound advice
  • honesty

3 thoughts on “SOL Tuesday- gratitude and thanks

  1. What a lovely list and what a blessing that gratitude journal has been. Love the list – I would have to add hot showers. Every day I'm grateful to live in a time and place that allows me this daily luxury And soup – it's the best winter food available.

    Like

Leave a Reply

