Celebrating reading, writing and learning

It’s Saturday.  Time to celebrate the week with Ruth Ayres here.

I’m glad it is Saturday. This week I am celebrating reading, writing and learning.

Reading:

One of my students recommended Brian Selznick’s Wonderstruck. I still haven’t read The Invention of Hugo Cabret,  and I’m finding the author’s style, book format and story fascinating.  Another reason I like it  is that it is a “big” book that looks the way a late elemntary student who hasn’t read many “big” books, would want their books to look. The pictures allow the reader  to move through the book without feeling bogged down.  And that helps the reader feel successful. I keep going back through the pictures, and I will admit that at least once I’ve zoomed ahead with the illustrations. The parallel story lines present lots of challenge and possibilities- I still haven’t figured it all out. I l celebrate that a student suggested it, and then another student lent it to me, and now the three of us are having lots of conversations about the book.

Writing:

I’m still tinkering with this poem, but it felt good to write it and especially good to get feedback from friends. I had a chance to write about my OLW this week, and I’ve been doing lots of writing in preparation for a presentation at the Virginia Association of Independent schools on Monday. I’m actually looking forward to starting on narrative reports for my reading students.  And I have an idea for a book…

Learning:

Our Fridays at school are becoming  clearer, stronger and more productive as we all learn more about student intiatated learning, the process, the planning, ways to share, how to develop meaningful questions… Yesterday I had a chance to work one on one with a third grader who has been researching the story of Oak Island. Confession: I did not know a thing about Oak Island. He taught me so much. Together we figured out that he needed to round out some of his information, and we grappled with how he might present what he’d learned. I showed him some possibilities for presentation, and he settled on creating a Power Point. Now he is learning how to organize his findings into a slide show thatn he will share with his classmates, and I am helping him learn the ins and outs of Power Point.

7 thoughts on “Celebrating reading, writing and learning

  1. I work with your struggling readers these days so it is not often that a student recommends a book; however, every once in a while, while at bus duty or even at lunch duty a student suggests a book to me. It is ALWAYS special and USUALLY wonderful! That is how the Wimpy Kids became one with my soul!

    Like

  2. I love the learning and sharing you are getting from students. So wonderful when we grow together. And your writing! Inspiring, and a teaser…a book idea. So exciting. Great celebrations.

    Like

  3. I love your poem, Lisa. It reminds me of the one by Stafford that I shared today, a similar theme don't you think? And love hearing about the student recommending the book, which I love, and the student researching. That's what my school's philosophy is, each student choosing and studying individual topics. The motivation doesn't leave! Have a great weekend!

    Like

  4. I love it when students lead us to new books and then want to talk about them. Had to go back and read your poem and OLW reflection. I love the graphic you created to go with your OLW. I don't know about Oak Island either.

    Like

Leave a Reply

