PB 10 For 10 Oldies but Goodies

It’s August 10, and many of us are sharing 10 picture books we love today.  Link up at Cathy Mere’s blog  Reflect and Refine  or at  Enjoy and Embrace Learning today. Even if you don’t have a list, read others. You will get ideas and inspiration for books you can share with readers this school year.  Also, follow #pb10for10 on Twitter. This is my first time participating. Last year I lurked, and some of the most popular books I shared with my Third and Fourth Graders came from 10 For 10 lists.

I’m getting my list up late, as I spent the last two days traveling. But while driving for hours and hours and hours, I plotted my list. I had lots of ideas about themes- from books that inspire writing, to books that are new to me, to awesome non fiction picture books that could convert even the most anti non fiction reader out there. But in the end, I decided to revisit some classics that I want to reintroduce to readers this year. In this fast paced Twenty-first century world, when we blog and tweet and have 1 to 1 device programs and Project Based Learning, we sometimes forget about those foundational books that hooked us, hooked our children and will likely hook our students too.

1. Bedtime For Frances.

I have a Frances, so I’ve been partial to this one ever since becoming a mom, but I also loved it as a child. Who can’t relate to all those clever delay tactics and moments of genuine fear  when we are absolutely certain that something really scary is lurking just beyond our covers?

2. The Little Fur Family.

If you have the edition that is bound in fur, it is just as wonderful to touch and hold as it is to read. This book just oozes cozy.

3. The Story of Ferdinand.

Read and share this because it is nice to remind ourselves and our students that it is okay to beat to a different drum. When I asked my daughter Claire what classics she remembers best and loved as a child, this was the first one she mentioned.

4. Madeline.

The rhythm and rhyme are classic. It’s fun to read aloud or alone. And aren’t the scar connection conversations fun?

5. Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.

Such a good book to share on a rough Monday.

6. The Runaway Bunny.

It’s a classic, and it’s reassuring to know that we will always be loved and found.
                     
7. Where The Wild Things Are.

I listened to a fascinating podcast about this book this summer. Of course I cannot now remember where I stumbled upon it. But, suffice it to say that there is so much here! We can all relate to some aspect of the story. But then there are the illustrations and the use of page space to consider, explore and discuss with student writers.

8. The Giving Tree.

Just make sure your students know this one. I think it’s a book we should all read once a year. 
9. The Lorax.

It’s timely even though it’s old. What a great way to start a conversation about being stewards of our resources.

10. The Little Engine That Could.

I think I can. I know you can. Perseverance. Kindness. It makes me think of the A.A. Milne quote, “You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.”

2 thoughts on “PB 10 For 10 Oldies but Goodies

  1. I have a cat named Frances, and the Russell Hoban books are why! Loved every Frances story as a child and begged my poor mother to read them again and again to me. Bedtime for Frances was the one she always wanted to read to me–in the hopes that I would learn what my job was and go to sleep! I know that I'm definitely guilty of sharing the latest and newest books with my students and often forget to introduce them to the “oldies but goodies.” Thanks for the reminder that balance is best!

    Like

  2. Lisa,
    This summer I've been thinking a lot about “good problems.” It seems picture book selection might be a good problem. There are so many new picture books being introduced that capture student attention, that sometimes we forget to share the old favorites. In the last few years, for example, I've noticed my students devour fairy tales. They rarely come to first grade knowing these stories anymore, and enjoy hearing them in their many versions. You've shared some classics I was some happy to be reminded about.

    Cathy

    Like

Leave a Reply

