Celebrate this week

Every Saturday Ruth Ayres hosts Celebrate this week. Check it out here, and join in if you like!

Sometimes it is hard for me to celebrate. Celebrate means something different to me now than it did a year ago. I used to think that to celebrating meant planning and people and noise and effort. Now I know it can be quiet and small. I used to think celebrating was just for the big stuff- birthdays, new jobs, good grades, holidays. Now I know that even ordinary moments can be celebrated, should be celebrated. Sometimes celebrating means simply taking time to pause, reflect, recognize. Some days I celebrate simply getting through.

This week I celebrate clouds and rain. I was craving sun.  I was hoping for at least one afternoon on the beach while I visited my mom in coastal Connecticut. But the weather had other ideas. And because of clouds and rain, I napped. Every day. I didn’t even realize how tired I was.

This week I celebrate an evening of entertainment. We were lucky enough to see Damn Yankees at Goodspeed Opera House. What a great show. The music, the choreography, the acting, and the dialogue were all terrific. I felt myself smiling for the whole show, and, when I looked over at my mom and daughter, they were smiling too.

This week I celebrate the amazing online network I have begun to know. My summer PD will be so much richer because of you. From you I’ve learned about blogs and Twitter chats and good reads that will help me grow professionally this summer.

This week I celebrate old friends. Several lifelong friends have done amazing things for me and my daughters lately. Lifelong friends are treasures. I am blessed to have a few.

This week I celebrate time. Summer means more unscheduled time for me. I spent time helping my mom and daughter this week. I made time to exercise every day. I took time to read the morning paper and sit on the sofa in the evening and catch up with my mother. I had time to walk my dog after dinner before the sun set. I found time to write notes to friends.

12 thoughts on “Celebrate this week

  1. I love that you got the naps, something you didn't even realize you needed.
    It was also interesting that both you and Ruth had similar messages in your posts today – the celebrations are in the small moments, the “pauses.” I couldn't agree more.
    And I just have to say, I spent some time looking at a few of your other posts. I love your writing style. I can't wait to follow your celebrations and read even more.

    Like

  2. I love this part…”Now I know it can be quiet and small. I used to think celebrating was just for the big stuff. Now I know that even ordinary moments can be celebrated. Sometimes celebrating means just taking time to recognize. Some days I celebrate simply getting through.”

    Like

  3. Hopefully, one of these days, I can celebrate napping! That sounds so nice. A lot of times, I tell myself I won't busy my schedule my days so full and then I get to a point when I feel like I can manage it but something always happens. Luckily, the things are mostly things I love to do so I can't complain too much! But a nap or three would be nice!

    Like

  4. Lisa,
    I loved this, “I used to think that to celebrating meant planning and people and noise and effort. Now I know it can be quiet and small.” It does seem it is the small things, especially when viewed from a distance, that become quite big and worth celebration.

    Cathy

    Like

Leave a Reply

