Brave

I’m pretty sure my daughter was feeling anything but brave when she walked on stage last night to sing Sara Bareilles’ Brave with her A Capella group. She had the solo. There she stood, under the bright lights, in front of a microphone and a big crowd full of parents and peers.  As another member of her group walked over to the piano and played a single note, I listened to my daughter clear her throat  twice. My hands began to sweat because I knew she wanted to nail it.  The song began and I could feel the smile spread across my whole face. With every note I could hear the nerves ease out of her voice, and she sounded strong and clear and brave.

2 thoughts on “Brave

Leave a Reply

